Tri-P Wednesday: A True Friend

📸 Picture-Prompt-Poetry Wednesday!

📸Pinterest
This shows a picture of two girls making a promise with each other with their pinky fingers.

This is one of my favourite scenes in Anne with an E where Anne and Diana promised to be best friends forever. It was a live series adaptation of the classic book, Anne of Green Gables.

Looking at the photo, I thought of my friend whom I missed so dearly, and it was my inspiration for writing the poem below: (I hope you'll like it)

A True Friend

I thought at first she was weird
With her distinct sense of style
As others wore fitted tanks,
She had a loose shawl around her arms

The classes had barely started
A week, when she arrived
And everyone is trying hard
Perhaps not to look pathetic, without a pal beside
But this girl didn’t care
Alone and she’s aware

I ignored her, except that
More than once, she flung her arms
Caching the class’s attention
With her different inflexion,

“What a quirky newbie,”
I mumbled and went about my day

We barely talked until-
The day I’m down the sail
My hair flew everywhere
And she joined me, on her heel
My head hurts for staying up
So late without a nap
In blue, no one talked to me
Except for her who beckoned
And smiled so kind at me

She offered me a ride
And I followed with a hesitant “fine”
Few days passed by,
and I found
myself singing beside
this weird girl from my class
whom I never talked to, much
We both joined in a band
With a song that’s really glum
Too late to back out now, at least we both had fun

She came from a far land
In search of an important one
My heart broke for her when I learned
She was looking for her mom
Whom she’d never seen once
Ever since she was young

I hope we have found her
I wish we’d seen a sign
Yet she needed to say goodbye
Now, somewhere else, she’ll try

I still think of that good friend
That darling friend of mine
And I wish deep in my heart
And very deep within
May she soon find her mother
To be with once again

Leave a comment